CCC Board of Education

Clackamas Community College is governed by a seven-member Board of Education. Members, elected to four-year terms, represent each of the seven zones in the CCC College Service District. The board sets policy for the college.

The board oversees the development of programs and services, the adoption of policies and budget, to meet the needs of the college district. The board generally meets the second Wednesday of the month, except for August, during which the board does not meet. Contact the board administrator at 503-594-3012 or by email if you have a question about specific board meeting dates.

Zone 5 Vacancy

Requirements: Applicant must be a registered voter residing within Clackamas Community College Zone 5 boundaries and not an officer or employee of the college. The zone boundary map can be located here: CCC Zone Map

Length of Term: The successful candidate will hold the office until June 30, 2021, and is eligible to run for a new two‐year term in the May 2021 election.

Duties: Clackamas Community College is governed by a seven‐member Board of Education.

Members, elected to four‐year terms, represent each of the seven zones in the CCC College Service District. The Board oversees the development of programs and services, and the adoption of policies and budget to meet the needs of the college district. Responsibilities also include outreach and engagement with the community, statewide education organizations, and the legislature.

The Board typically meets the second Wednesday of every month. Special meetings are called as needed.

Application Procedure: This completed application (two pages) is to be returned to the Board Secretary at or at the above address by 5 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 27, 2020.

Board of Education Members

Greg Chaimov

Zone 1 - Milwaukie

Greg Chaimov

Greg Chaimov is an attorney who has lived in Clackamas County for more than 30 years. He is active in the community, serving on the Milwaukie City Council and the board of the North Clackamas Chamber of Commerce, of which he was chair 2011-12. He is the past board president of the Clackamas County Vector Control District and vice chair of the Clackamas County Historic Review Board.


CCC in Milwaukie

Rob Wheeler

Zone 2 - Happy Valley

Rob Wheeler

Rob Wheeler joined the Board of Education in 2017, representing the Happy Valley area. He has been a financial planner since 1994. He is the former mayor of Happy Valley, member and two-time chair of the North Clackamas County Chamber of Commerce Board, member of the CCC Bond Project Citizen Oversight Committee and member of the Clackamas County Sheriff’s Office Blue Ribbon Committee. He also served on the North Clackamas School District Five-year Strategic Planning Committee, the Sunrise Corridor Transportation Citizens Advisory Committee and the I-205 Light Rail Citizens Advisory Committee.

He has a Bachelor of Science in finance/law from Portland State University. Rob and his wife, Robin, live in Happy Valley and have lived in the county since 1994. Rob believes community college is an affordable steppingstone for higher education and provides occupational training desperately needed by the business community and for career advancement.


CCC in Happy Valley

Dave Hunt

Zone 3 - Gladstone

Dave Hunt

Dave Hunt has extensive experience in both the public and private sectors. He began his career as a congressional staffer and went on to serve five terms in the Oregon Legislature, serving as both speaker and Democratic majority leader. He has served as executive director for three nonprofit associations and is currently the executive director of the Pacific Northwest Defense Coalition. Dave is a former member of the Oregon City School Board.

Dave graduated from high school in Eugene and majored in political science and American government at Columbia University.


CCC in Gladstone

Chris Groener

Zone 4 - Oregon City and West Linn

Chris Groener

Chris Groener attended CCC where his father, Ralph Groener, served on the board in the 1970s. He transferred to Portland State University and was the president of Associated Students. He also served on both the Oregon Student Foundation and the PSU Alumni Board of Directors. He works as a union representative for UFCW Local 555 and has a wide range of legislative experiences and a strong grasp of public policy.


CCC in Oregon City


Zone 5 - West Linn and Wilsonville

Position Vacant

CCC in Wilsonville

CCC in West Linn

Jane Reid

Zone 6 - East Clackamas

Jane Reid

Jane Reid has served on the Board of Education since 2007. She brings decades of community service and advocacy to CCC. Jane has been active in the project to revitalize the Estacada Auditorium through Estacada Together. Her community contributions also include developing The Powerhouse Project, a multi-year project that explores the dams and powerhouses on the Clackamas River through the arts, and spearheading numerous projects and funding efforts for the arts in Estacada and Clackamas County. Jane holds a bachelor’s degree in English from the University of Connecticut. Jane is an advocate for the arts, education and the environment.


CCC in Colton

CCC in Estacada

Irene Konev

Zone 7 - South and Southwest Clackamas

Irene Konev

Irene Konev joined the CCC Board of Education in 2017. She has 20 years of outreach experience, having worked at Clackamas Women’s Services and the Portland Independent Police Review. Her volunteer work includes the Clackamas County Equity Diversity and Inclusion Council, the Community of Color Task Force, Russian Old Believer Enhancement Services, the Slavic Advisory Council to the Chief of Portland Police, Human Trafficking Task Force and Metro Equity Strategy Committee. She is currently studying political science at Portland State University. She has lived in Canby for 12 years and is the mother of seven grown children. Irene believes that higher education leads to the generational wealth of families and changes family legacies.


CCC in Canby

CCC in Molalla