Wrestlers take second place in a wild finish

Jul 12, 2017, 22:21 PM by Josh Rhoden
The Clackamas Community College wrestling team ended the best regular season in school history with a second-place finish at the NJCAA National Championships earning an amazing eight All-Americans with five National Finalists.

Council Bluffs, Iowa- The Clackamas Community College wrestling team ended the best regular season in school history with a second-place finish at the NJCAA National Championships earning an amazing eight All-Americans with five National Finalists.

The team battled throughout the two day event with Iowa Central and Northeast Oklahoma as the lead changed in the finals a total of 5 times.  Clackamas took the lead after Colt Doyle won the National Championship at 174 pounds but Clackamas would be passed at the final weight class of the night as Iowa Central’s heavyweight would win by fall in the finale to take the lead for good.

Earning a trip to the National finals were: David Campbell, Josh Reyes, Dillon Ulrey, Colt Doyle and Haszell West. Wrestling back to medal were: Kurt Mode 3rd, Nathan Johnson 4th and John Leal 7th.  Nick Maximov also scored points for the Cougars at 197 pounds.  Winning individual national titles for the Cougars were Josh Reyes (149) and Colt Doyle (174). 

 “Our team, staff and support system here have been so amazing this year.  Our kids wrestled so great this weekend and they did all the right things this year to put themselves in the spot to have a shot at a National Championship we just came up a bit shy of what was needed, said 11th year coach Josh Rhoden. 

“Coach Rich Vigorito and I are so proud of how our young men have done this year on the mats, in the classroom and here in our community. I have to give a special shout out to Coach Vigorito, Kevin Arizo, Andrew Stanfield, Erich Pfeifer, Darcie Iven and PJ Martineau as they do so much for our athletes here at Clackamas and we just wouldn’t be where we are without people like this to help us accomplish our goals in life and on the mat!”

Top Five Team Scores

Iowa Central 150.0
Clackamas 146.5
Northeastern Okahoma 143.0
Lincoln 88.5
Ellsworth 77.5


125 #2 David Cambell -2nd Place
- Bye
- Win DEC 7-3 over Morgan Fogg (Northeastern)
- Win DEC  9-2 over #7 Brennan Doebel (North Iowa Area)
- Win DEC 8-6 over #6 Justin Folley (Ellsworth) 
- Loss DEC 4-3 to #5 Todd Small (Iowa Central)

133 #4 Nate Johnson – 4th Place
- Bye
- Win DEC 6-0 over Bryan Jones (Muskgegon)
- Win DEC 5-2 over Otis Rollins (Colby)
- Loss DEC 6-4 to #1 Zak Hensley (Iowa Central) 
- Win Fall 6:57 over #8 D'andre Brumfield (Iowa Western )
- Loss DEC 7-4 #3 George Farmah (Iowa Lakes)

141 #1 Kurt Mode - 3rd Place
- Bye
- Win MD 11-3 over #8 Lamont Cannon (Minnesota West)
- Loss MD 13-3 to Nick Casella (Nassau)
- Win MD 11-0 over Zach Scott (Rochester)
- Win DEC 10-6 over #2 Curtis Burnett (NE Oklahoma) 
- Win FALL 4:55 over Austin Anderly  (N. Iowa Area)
-  Win DEC  11-9 over Christian Kanzler (Lincoln)

149 #1 Josh Reyes - Champion 
- Bye
- Win MD 12-3 over Bryan Burnett (Labette)
- Win DEC 2-0 over #2 Brandon Murray (Iowa Central)
- Win DEC 4-2 over #8 Nate Skonieczny (Jamestown) 
- Win DEC 6-4  over  #3 Dylan Lucas (NE Oklahoma)

157 #3 John Leal – 7th Place
- Win by Fall 6:05 over Colt Winnett (N. Iowa Area)
- Win MD 13-2 over Cameron Braden (NW Wyoming)
- Loss DEC 4-3 to #4 Danny Conley (Labette)
- Win by Fall 1:33 over #6 Brent Evans (North Idaho) 
- Loss Fall 4:08 to Alex Gonzalez (Lincoln) 
- Win DEC 10-5 #5 Alex Nelson (NE Oklahoma)

165 #5 Dillon Ulrey – 2nd Place 
-Win by Fall 2:30 over Monquez Townsend (Colby) 
- Win DEC 12-11 over #8 Ean Eichert (Triton) (came back from 11-5 deficit)
- Win DQ over #2 Troy Keller (Niagara) for illegal throw
- Win M FOR 10-5 over #7 Trey Meyer (North Idaho) 
- Loss DEC 6-2 to Wyatt Jordan (NE Oklahoma)

174 #2 Colt Doyle - Champion
- Win by Fall 2:02 over Alec Guevara (Ulster)
- Win DEC 7-0 #1 Sam Ortiz (NE Oklahoma)
- Win Fall over #6 Tyree Overton (Lincoln)
- Win TF 19-4 over Michael Morris (Camden County) 
- Win DEC 8-2 over #7 Adrian Lyons-Lopez (SW Oregon)

184 #3 Haszell West - 2nd Place
- Win by TF 17-2 over Alex Munoz (Ulster)
- Win DEC 3-2 over #4 Herber Shepard (NW Wyoming)
- Win DEC 5-4 OT over #1 Danny Bush (Iowa Central)
- Win DEC 8-1 Daishi Gotto (Camden County) 
- Loss Fall 1:23 to #6 Preston Lauterbach (Iowa Western)

197 #8 Nick Maximov 
- Loss by MD 13-4 to #4 Timothy Young (Ellsworth)
- Win DEC 10-6 over Jered Smith (Otero)
- Loss by MD 17-7 to #5 Jeremy Merryweather (North Idaho)



Also view lastest signings on the Northwest Athletic Conference (NWAC) website. 

Ava Williams - Oregon City High School, volleyball
Brooklyn Bevens - Oregon City High School, volleyball
Rachel McCoy - Colton High School, volleyball
Deeann Schaal - Canyon High School, volleyball
Hanna Yamashita - Reynolds High School, volleyball
Kendall John - North Marion High School, volleyball
Katelyn Payne - Reynolds High School, volleyball
Naomi Earwood - Sunset High School, volleyball
Gabby Monteleone - Liberty High School, Colo., volleyball
Kaitlyn Wilson - Aloha High School, volleyball
Jacobi Rudd - Imbler High School, volleyball
Makenna McClellan - Tigard High School, women's soccer
Kreek Copher - Estacada High School, women's soccer
Emma Aldrich - Tigard High School, women's soccer
Kaitlyn Burke - Molalla High School, women's soccer
Eileen Reyna - Hillsboro High School, women's soccer
Amy Duvall - North Salem High School, women's soccer
Madeline Ramos - Westview High School, women's soccer
Alejandra Hernandez Rodriguez - McMinnville High School, women's soccer
Gustavo Lopez - Woodburn High School, men's cross country


Ricki Mock - Sutherlin High School/SW Oregon CC, women's basketball


Mason Schimmel - Rainier High School, baseball
Kristjen Mertes - Wilsonville High School, baseball
Dillon May - Sunset High School, baseball
Derek Eubanks - Oregon City High School, baseball
Taylor Palmer - Newberg High School, baseball
Dillon May - Sunset High School, baseball
Miranda Jensen - Elmira High School, softball
Natalie Munson - Westview High School, softball
Katie Ragsdale - Banks High School, softball
Baylee Eaton - Marist High School, softball
Brittany Hays - Milwaukie High School, sofball
Halee Vinyard - Union High School, softball
Renel Koker - Lebanon High School, softball
Peyton Elliott - Elma High School, softball
Josie Toyra - Montesano High School, softball